The Bradley Prizes®

The 2019 Bradley Prizes will be hosted by The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation on Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C.

The Bradley Prizes honor scholars and practitioners whose accomplishments reflect The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation’s mission to restore, strengthen and protect the principles and institutions of American exceptionalism. 

“The Bradley Foundation is proud to honor distinguished individuals whose extraordinary talents have influenced American scholarship and debate,” said Richard Graber, President and CEO of the Bradley Foundation. “We look forward to an evening that recognizes their achievements and celebrates the belief that political and economic freedom lead to greater opportunity, prosperity, and quality of life.”


2018 Bradley Prize Winners


Jason Riley is a Wall Street Journal columnist, author and a senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute. Riley has written on the issues of race, welfare policy, politics, and immigration for over twenty years. In 2005, Riley was named to the prestigious Wall Street Journal editorial board. He is the author of several books, including Let Them In, which argues for a more free-market oriented U.S. immigration system. His second book, Please Stop Helping Us, which is about the track record of government efforts to help the black underclass, was published in 2014. His most re-cent book, False Black Power?, is an assessment of why black political success has not translated into more economic success and was published in 2017. Riley is a frequent contributor to Fox News, ABC, NBC, CNN, PBS, and NPR, among others. 

Find out more.

Charles R. Kesler is the editor of the Claremont Review of Books, a senior fellow at the Claremont Institute, and the Dengler-Dykema Distinguished Professor of Government at Claremont McKenna College. Kesler was recently recognized as one of the “Politico 50,” the publication’s annual list of key thinkers, doers and visionaries who are reshaping American politics and policy. An author who has written extensively on American constitutionalism and political thought, his edition of The Federalist Papers (Signet Classics) is the best-selling edition in the country and his illuminating 2012 book on the progressivism of Barack Obama, I Am The Change, attracted wide acclaim. Kesler’s work frequently appears in The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post, among others.

Find out more.

Allen C. Guelzo is the Director of Civil War Era Studies and the Henry R. Luce Professor of the Civil War Era at Gettysburg College. Named one of Power Line’s 100 “Top Professors” in America, Guelzo is an award-winning author who has written for and appeared on numerous media outlets. Among his many honors are a 2010 Grammy Award nomination for his part in a BBC Audio production of the entirety of the Lincoln-Douglas debates (with David Strathairn and Richard Dreyfuss); the Lincoln Award of the Union League of Philadelphia; and he is a three-time winner of the Lincoln Prize for his books about Abraham Lincoln. His Gettysburg: The Last Invasion was a 2013 New York Times best-seller. Guelzo is a former member of the National Council of the National Endowment for the Humanities; a fellow of the Charles Warren Center for Studies in American History at Harvard University; and a senior fellow at the Claremont Institute.

Find out more.

The 2018 Bradley Prize recipients will each receive a stipend of $250,000. A selection committee of distinguished individuals chose this year's honorees after careful review of nearly 200 nominations. 

The committee members include: Victor Davis Hanson, scholar, author, Hoover Institution Senior Fellow and 2008 Bradley Prize recipient; Diane Hendricks, Founder and Chair, ABC Supply Co.; Alan Charles Kors, Henry Charles Lea Professor Emeritus of History at the University of Pennsylvania and 2008 Bradley Prize recipient; James Arthur Pope, Owner, Chairman and CEO, Variety Wholesalers, and Bradley Foundation Board Chairman; Tracie Sharp, President and CEO, State Policy Network; Kimberley Strassel, author and columnist, Wall Street Journal and 2014 Bradley Prize recipient; Robert Woodson, Sr., Founder and President, Center for Neighborhood Enterprise and 2008 Bradley Prize recipient; Dianne Sehler, Bradley Foundation Senior Advisor to the President; and Richard Graber, Bradley Foundation President and CEO and Selection Committee Chairman.

To schedule an interview with Richard Graber, President & CEO of the Bradley Foundation, please contact Christine Czernejewski at 202-368-0281 or